Research laboratory of Michelle Arkin, PhD
Chemical Biology and Biophysics Laboratory

People

Photo

Who

Research interests

Arkin

Michelle Arkin, PhD
Principal Investigator
michelle.arkin@ucsf.edu

Protein-protein interaction (PPI), allostery, enzymology, fragment-based lead discovery, neglected tropical diseases, neurodegeneration, oncology, high-throughput screening (HTS)

Kenny Ang

Kean-Hooi (Kenny) Ang, PhD
Specialist
kean-hooi.ang@ucsf.edu

HTS, imaging assays

Kenny Ang

May H. Abdelaziz, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Scholar
may.abdelaziz@ucsf.edu

Protein-protein interaction (PPI), enzyme allostery, protein expression, biophysical analysis, lead discovery and drug design.

Bulfer

Stacie Bulfer, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
stacie.bulfer@ucsf.edu

Enzyme allostery, molecular recognition, fragment-based lead discovery, surface plasmon resonance, X-ray crystallography, protein engineering

Chen

Steven Chen, BS
Specialist
steven.chen@ucsf.edu

Automation engineering, IN Cell Analyzer, high content screening (HCS), HTS, design of experiment, assay development, data analysis

Davies

Julia Davies, BS
Specialist
julia.davies@ucsf.edu

Software development, chemical and data clustering, chemical and biological fingerprinting, data mining, data visualization, data analysis methodology and technique development

Fan

Yao Fan, PhD
Specialist
yao.fan@ucsf.edu

Fragment-based lead discovery, protein dynamics, virtual screening, X-ray crystallography, protein engineering

Hallenbeck

Ken Hallenbeck, BS
Graduate Student

 

Frantz Jean-Francois

Frantz Jean-Francois, PhD
Postdoc
Frantz.Jean-Francois@ucsf.edu

Protein chemistry, fragment-based lead discovery, enzyme allostery, peptide-membrane interactions, membrane proteins

Daniel MedinaCleghorn

Daniel Medina-Cleghorn, PhD Postdoctoral Scholar
daniel.medina-cleghorn@ucsf.edu

Chemical Biology & Toxicology

Merron

Connie Merron
Specialist
connie.merron@ucsf.edu

Information systems, data analysis, mining, visualization, collaboration and user interface

Yinyan Tang

Yinyan Tang, PhD
Specialist
yinyan.tang@ucsf.edu

HTS, fragment-based drug discovery, enzymology, structural biology, PPI, allostery, neurodegeneration

Chris Wilson

Christopher Wilson, PhD
Academic Administrator
chris.wilson2@ucsf.edu

Molecular recognition in autoimmune and infectious disease targets; assay technologies and data mining methods

Staff

Photo

Who

 
 

Anne Barron
Administrative Assistant
anne.barron@ucsf.edu

 

Former SMDC Team Members

Photo

Who

Research interests

Doak

Allison Doak, BS
Specialist
allison.doak@ucsf.edu

Small molecule aggregation, exercise physiology

Mao

Rong Mao, PhD
Grants Manager
rong.mao@ucsf.edu

All topics relevant to Small Molecule Discovery Center (SMDC) research such as PPI, allostery, enzymology, fragment-based lead discovery, neglected tropical diseases, neurodegeneration, oncology, and HTS

Ogden

Pierce Ogden, BS
Specialist
pierce.ogden@ucsf.edu

HTS, assay development, automation, oncology, PPI, enzymology, immunology, tethering, data analysis, data science, patterns and predicitions, virtual screening

Pfaff

Samuel Pfaff, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
samuel.pfaff@ucsf.edu

Molecular recognition, fragment-based lead discovery, surface plasmon resonance, X-ray crystallography, enzymology, protein engineering