Research laboratory of Leslie Benet, PhD

People

Principal investigator

Photo

Who

Research interests

Benet

Leslie Benet, PhD
Principal Investigator
leslie.benet@ucsf.edu

Drug development and regulatory sciences, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacogenomics, drug transporters, drug metabolism, drug-drug interactions, biopharmaceutics, drug delivery, enzymes and transporters, Biopharmaceutics Classification System (BCS), Biopharmaceutics Drug Disposition Classification System (BDDCS)

Specialists

Photo

Who

Research interests

Hideaki Okochi, Ph.D. Assistant Professional Researcher 

Wolfe

Alan R. Wolfe
alan.wolfe@ucsf.edu

 

Howard T. Horng, Ph.D.

howard.horng@ucsf.edu

Director, UCSF-Hair Analytical Lab (HAL)

Clinical Chemistry Fellow (UCSF)

Graduate students

Photo

Who

Research interests

Christine Bowman
christine.bowman@ucsf.edu

Improvements for the In Vitro to In Vivo Extrapolation of Hepatic Clearance

Hypothesis: that considering a transporter-induced plasma protein binding shift as well as other physicochemical parameters will lead to more accurate predictions of intracellular unbound drug concentrations and IVIVE of hepatic clearance

Rosa Chan

rosa.chan@ucsf.edu

Evaluating the application of the BDDCS to assess the risk of skin and liver toxicity potential in small molecules using in vitro and human clinical data

Rim Hur

rim.hur@ucsf.edu

 

Shufang Liu

shufang.liu@ucsf.edu

Rifampin may induce and/or inhibit hepatic uptake and efflux transporters when administered in different dosing regimens. In vivo and ex vivo studies are run to observe effects of oral doses of rifampin on intestinal transporters in the absorption of BDDCS class III drugs.

Jasleen Sodhi
jasleen.sodhi@ucsf.edu

Drug Discovery: Volume in Predicting Distribution

Hsin-Fang Wu
hsin-fang.wu@ucsf.edu

Two arm, randomized, cross-over clinical trials were designed and conducted in Taiwan and the US to investigate the basic mechanism of drug transporters and genetic polymorphism on the statin pharmacokinetics between Asians and Caucasians.

Staff

Photo

Who

 

Frances Peterson
Administrative Assistant
frances.peterson@ucsf.edu