Research laboratory of
Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD
Membrane Transporter Functions and Genomics Laboratory

People

Principal investigator

Photo

Who

Research interests

Giacomini

Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD

Professor and Principal Investigator

kathy.giacomini@ucsf.edu

Understanding the roles of membrane transporters in drug absorption, disposition, targeting, and in clinical drug response. Discovering natural variants in transporter genes in ethnically diverse human populations that associate with variation in drug response

Administration

Photo

Who

 
 

Ilona Paredes

Administrative Analyst

ilona.paredes@ucsf.edu

 

Staff

Photo

Who

Responsibilities

Yee

Sook Wah Yee, PhD

Assistant Adjunct Professor

sookwah.yee@ucsf.edu

 

  • Investigating the discovery of transporters as drug targets
  • Utilizing genomewide data to identify transporter endogenous role and drug pharmacological action

Senior researchers

Photo

Who

Research interests

Lin

Lawrence Lin, PhD

Project Director

lawrence.lin@ucsf.edu

 

Postdocs

Photo

Who

Research interests

Cheung

Kathy Cheung

Postdoctoral Scholar

kathy.cheung@ucsf.edu

  • Understanding the ontogenic changes in human renal transporters to better predict drug exposure in special populations
Chien

James Huan-Chieh Chien, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

huan-chieh.chien@ucsf.edu

 

  • Understanding the role of organic cation transporter 1 (OCT1) and its-mediated drug-drug interactions
  • Pharmacogenomics studies of SLC2A2 and metformin
Ennis

Elizabeth Ennis

Postdoctoral Scholar

elizabeth.ennis@ucsf.edu

  • Understanding the genetic determinates of metformin response through the use of GWAS, clinical studies, and cellular-based approaches
Zou

Ling Zou, PhD

Postdoctoral Scholar

ling.zou@ucsf.edu

 

  • Understanding species difference in renal transporters to better predict dosing and prevent drug-induced nephrotoxicity in humans
  • Examining interactions of excipients with intestinal influx transporters which may affect drug bioavailability and bioequivalence

Graduate students

Photo

Who

Research interests

Brackman

Deanna Brackman

Graduate Student Researcher, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics

deanna.brackman@ucsf.edu

 

  • Discovery of genetic factors that contribute to variability in allopurinol response to create a genetic risk model for more precise prescription of uric-acid-lowering medications
Enogieru

Jessica Enogieru, PharmD, BCPS

Graduate Student, Pharamceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics

jessica.enogieru@ucsf.edu

 

  • Discovery, analysis, and functional characterization of genetic factors that influence anti-hyperglycemic drug response to metformin
Liang

Xiaomin Liang

Graduate Student, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics

xiaomin.liang@ucsf.edu

 

  • Understanding the endogenous role of organic cation transporter 1 (OCT1) and transporter-mediated drug-drug interactions in animal PK/PD
  • using a metabolomics approach to identify metabolic signatures and endogenous biomarkers
Luo

Qi (Roxy) Luo

Exchange Student

qi.luo@ucsf.edu

  • Understanding the effect of OCT3 on energy metabolism via endogenous substrates
Stecula

Adrian Stecula

Graduate Student, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics

adrian.stecula@ucsf.edu

 

  • Structure determination of human SLC transporters; design of novel ligands using structure-based approaches
  • Understanding the function and regulation of the human SLC28 family on the structural level