Research laboratory of Adam Renslo, PhD
Medicinal Chemistry and Chemical Biology Laboratory

People

Photo

Who

Research interests

Renslo

Adam Renslo, PhD
Principal Investigator
adam.renslo@ucsf.edu

Targeted drug-delivery, understanding and improving the cell permeability of peptide therapeutics, fragment-based drug discovery, identifying and characterizing the targets of novel small molecules

Tim Acker, PhD
NIH Postdoctoral Scholar, Joint with Craik lab
Timothy.Acker@ucsf.edu

I am interested in discovering, developing and understanding the mechanism of small molecules targeting the protein-protein interaction required for the activity of the herpesvirus family of serine proteases involved in capsid formation.

Brian Blank, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Brian.Blank@ucsf.edu

Synthesis of iron(II)-reactive small molecules for use as either novel antimalarial agents or as a means of delivering known antimalarials

Cliff Bryant

Clifford Bryant, MS
Staff Scientist
clifford.bryant@ucsf.edu

Synthesis of small molecules for antiparasitic and neurological conditions

Defrees

Kyle Defrees
PhD student in Chemistry and Chemical Biology Graduate Program
kyle.defrees@ucsf.edu

Lead discovery for bacterial disease and mechanistic investigation of β-lactamase inhibition

Hulce

Kaitlin Hulce
PhD student in Chemistry and Chemical Biology Graduate Program
kyle.defrees@ucsf.edu

Lead identification for Kaposi Herpes Simplex Virus (KHSV). Joint with Prof. Charles Craik

Jaishankar

Priya Jaishankar, MS
Staff Scientist
priya.jaishankar@ucsf.edu

Lead discovery and optimization for bacterial and viral disease

Muir

Ryan Muir
PhD student in Chemistry and Chemical Biology Graduate Program
Ryan.Muir@ucsf.edu

Applications of iron(II)-targeted drug delivery in cancer

Neitz

Jeff Neitz, PhD
Senior Staff Scientist and Scientific Coordinator for the Fragment Discovery Center
jeffrey.neitz@ucsf.edu

Fragment-based drug discovery broadly defined, and specifically as applied to challenging targets in cancer; lead optimization for trypanosomal disease and schistosomiasis

Talukder
Poulami Talukder, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
poulami.talukder@ucsf.edu
New applications of iron(II)-dependent drug delivery
Kurt Van Horn

Kurt Van Horn, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Kurt.VanHorn@ucsf.edu

Design and synthesis of synthetically tractable small molecules for treatment of human disease
Younis-Adam

Yassir Younis Adam, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Yassir.Adam@ucsf.edu

Medicinal chemistry optimization of a High Throughput Screen (HTS) hits for Human Hematopoietic Stem Cell (HSC) expansion.

Former lab members

Who

Now at

Mark Burlingame, PhD

UCSF Mass Spectrometry Facility

Ingrid Chen, PhD

UCSF Program in Global Health Sciences

Jonathan Choy, PhD

Research Scientist, Globavir Biosciences, Los Altos, CA

Shaun Fontaine, PhD

Scientist, ProLynx LLC, San Francisco

Allejandra Gallardo-Godoy, PhD

Senior Researcher, University of Queensland

Brian Hearn, PhD

Associate Director, ProLynx LLC, San Francisco

Erica Lauterwasser, PhD

Scientist, BASF, Ludwigshafen, Germany

Sumit Mahajan, PhD

Director, Drug Development, Globavir Biosciences, Los Altos, CA

Hiroki Shimizu PhD

Research Scientist, Daichi Sankyo, Japan

Ben Spangler, PhD

Postdoc, Novartis Institute of Biomedical Research (NIBR) Emeryville, CA

David Turner, PhD

Research Scientist, Leidos, Frederick, MD

Punitha Vedantham, PhD

Organic / Medicinal Chemistry Specialist Vibrant Sciences, Burlingame, CA