Research laboratory of William DeGrado, PhD

People

Principal investigator

Photo

Who

Research Interests

William DeGrado, PhD

William DeGrado, PhD
Professor and Principal Investigator
william.degrado@ucsf.edu

De novo protein design; membrane proteins; small molecule drug discovery for antimicrobials, influenza A virus, antifibrotics, and neurodegeneration; chemical biology; peptide design

Senior scientists

Photo

Who

Research Interests

Hyunil Jo, PhD

Hyunil Jo, PhD
Specialist, Lab Manager
hyunil.jo@ucsf.edu

Medicinal chemistry to fight against unconquered human diseases; chemical biology to understand the fundamental processes in life

Yibing Wu, PhD

Yibing Wu, PhD
NMR Specialist
ybwu01@gmail.com

Structure and dynamics of proteins using multidimensional NMR spectroscopy; structural studies of the M2 protein from influenza

Postdoctoral scholars

Photo

Who

Research Interests

Manasi Bhate

Manasi Bhate, PhD                               
Postdoctoral Scholar
manasi.bhate@ucsf.edu
Website

Mechanistic basis of transmembrane signal transduction by protein design, NMR spectroscopy, and biophysics; structure and dynamics of histidine kinases

Bobo Dang

Bobo Dang, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
bobo.dang@ucsf.edu

Protein/peptide therapeutics

Huong Tran Kratochvil   
Postdoctoral Scholar huong.kratochvil@ucsf.edu              

 

Influenza A and B matrix protein structure and mechanism

Thomas Lemmin, PhD

Thomas Lemmin, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
thomas.lemmin@ucsf.edu

Integrative molecular modeling of oligomeric proteins; structural refinement and dynamics using molecular dynamics simulations

Robert Newberry, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar     robert.newberry@ucsf.edu

Exploring molecular determinants of protein folding, misfolding, and amyloid formation through chemical biology and biophysics

Nicholas Polizzi, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar       nicholas.polizzi@ucsf.edu

Design and characterization of de novo proteins that selectively bind small molecules

Nathan Schmidt, PhD

Nathan Schmidt, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
nathan.schmidt@ucsf.edu

Bacterial systems which detect host defense antimicrobial peptides; role of bacterial response to antimicrobials in virulence and resistance; two-component system signaling in microbes

Gozde Ulas

Gözde Ulas, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
gozde.ulas@ucsf.edu

Accessing and modulating reactivity of de novo metalloproteins by protein design, biochemical, and biophysical methods

Haifan Wu

Haifan Wu, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
haifan.wu@ucsf.edu

Stapled peptides targeting protein-nucleic acid interactions; specific imaging agents for integrin αvβ1

Shaoqing Zhang, PhD

Shao-Qing Zhang, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
zhangsh@sas.upenn.edu

Design de novo helix bundles, water soluble or membrane associated; build model systems for folding and/or functional studies; invent nanomaterials for biological applications

Graduate students

Photo

Who

Research Interests

Leo Gendelev

Leo Gendelev
Biophysics (BP) program
leo.gendelev@ucsf.edu

Designed proteins that can modulate protein-protein interactions; computational methods and directed evolution techniques; mining the protein data bank for interaction motifs

Bruk Mensa

Bruk Mensa
Chemistry and Chemical Biology (CCB) program
bruk.mensa@ucsf.edu

Structure and signal transduction mechanism of bacterial two component system histidine kinases; mechanism of action of antimicrobial peptide mimetics

Marco Mravic

Marco Mravic
Biophysics (BP) program (iPQB)
marco.mravic@ucsf.edu

De novo design of functional membrane proteins; molecular dynamics simulations; protein-driven membrane distortions; protein evolution; droplet microfluidics; machine learning

Jessica Thomaston

Jessica Thomaston
Chemistry and Chemical Biology (CCB) program
jessica.thomaston@ucsf.edu

Membrane protein structure using x-ray crystallography; influenza M2 proton channel structure, mechanism, and drug resistance

Visiting scholars

Photo

Who

Research Interests

Sid Das

Sid Das, PhD
Visiting Professor
siddhartha.das@ucsf.edu

Making protein matrix for drug release

Kazutoshi Takahashi, PhD

Kazutoshi Takahashi, PhD
Researcher
Ajinomoto Co. Inc., Kawasaki, Japan
kazutoshi.takahashi@ucsf.edu

De novo design of proteins using both computational and experimental methods

Administrative staff

PHOTO

WHO

WHAT I DO

Lili Li

Lili Li
Administrative Analyst
lili.li@ucsf.edu

Serve as point of contact for administrative inquiries; support administrative needs; coordinate visits from guest speakers; manage calendars