Research laboratory of Shuvo Roy, PhD
Biodesign Laboratory

People

Jump below to:

Principal investigator

Photo

Who

Research interests

Roy

Shuvo Roy, PhD
Professor and Principal Investigator
shuvo.roy@ucsf.edu

Development of MEMS (microelectromechanical systems) technology for biomedical applications with an emphasis on implantable devices

Administration

Photo

Who

What I do

Gordon

Illya Gordon
Research Associate
Cleanroom Coordinator and Lab Manager
illya.gordon@ucsf.edu

Management of Biodesign Lab and Biomedical Micro & Nanotechnology Core (BMNC), focusing on facilitating and assisting in device fabrication and development for application in urgent biomedical challenges such as drug delivery, stem cell differentiation, and point-of-care diagnostics

Stephanie Brummett

Stephanie Brummett
Project Coordinator
stephanie.brummett@ucsf.edu

Coordinates outreach and social media for The Kidney Project; provides administrative support for the principal investigator and lab members

Postdoctoral scholars

Photo

Who

Research interests

Etemadi

Mozziyar Etemadi, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PhD)
mozziyar.etemadi@ucsf.edu

Development of inexpensive, cloud-enabled medical technologies to diagnose and treat disease; projects: new treatment for congenital diaphragmatic hernia (CDH); new device for early detection of preterm labor

Eun Jung Kim

Eun Jung Kim, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
eunjung.kim@ucsf.edu

Collaborates with The Kidney Project; surface modification techniques and hemocompatibility testing for silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs); characterization of cellular responses of bone marrow stem cells, connective tissue progenitor cells, derived mammalian cells on microtextured surfaces in order to understand cell-surface interactions for tissue engineering applications

Steven Kim

Steven Kim, MD
Postdoctoral Scholar, Division of Nephrology
steven.kim@ucsf.edu

Collaborates with The Kidney Project; development and characterization of the next generation of dialysis, using silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs)

Park

Jaehyun Park, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
jaehyun.park@ucsf.edu

Design, fabrication, and testing of silicon membranes, as part of The Kidney Project

Graduate students

Photo

Who

Research interests

Bancroft Brown

Jeremy Bancroft Brown
Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PhD)
jeremy.bancroftbrown@ucsf.edu

Development of miniaturized sensors and electronics for point-of-care diagnostics and MRI biomarker discovery as part of collaboration between the Roy and Kurhanewicz labs

Iqbal

Zohora Iqbal
PhD student, UCSF/UCB Joint Graduate Program in Bioengineering
zohora.iqbal@ucsf.edu

Collaborates with members of The Kidney Project; improving the biocompatibility of silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs) by surface chemistry alteration with polymer coatings

Jayagopal

Aishwarya Jayagopal
PhD student, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics (PSPG)
aishwarya.jayagopal@ucsf.edu

Designing scaled in vitro model of the kidney for use in drug clearance and toxicity testing

Soler

Peter Soler
PhD student, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, UC Berkeley
peter.soler@ucsf.edu

Collaborates with The Kidney Project; design, fabrication, and study of the bioreactor, one half of the implantable bioartificial kidney device: specifically, membrane transport characteristics, fluid mechanics, and device design affecting overall mass transport in the bioartificial kidney

Song

Shang Song
PhD student, UCSF/UCB Joint Graduate Program in Bioengineering
shang.song@ucsf.edu

Development of a bioartificial pancreas for the treatment of Type 1 diabetes using silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs)

Yeager

Torin Yeager
PhD student, UCSF/UCB Joint Graduate Program in Bioengineering
torin.yeager@ucsf.edu

Development of an efficient and compact membrane oxygenator for respiratory support (in effect, a wearable or implantable artificial lung), utilizing silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs)

Laboratory staff

Photo

Who

Research interests

Blaha

Charles Blaha, MS
Research Associate
charles.blaha@ucsf.edu

Construction of the housing for the implantable bioartificial kidney and testing of silicon membrane technology for various biomedical applications; assists the Principal Investigator with reports, manuscripts, and proposals

Chung

Philip Chung, MS
Smart Diaphragm Project Director
philip.chung@ucsf.edu

Development of noninvasive intravaginal device for early preterm birth detection; development of mobile health apps and sensors that provide clinicians with more treatment data for decision-making and improved patient outcomes

Heller

Alex Heller, MS
Hardware Manager
james.heller@ucsf.edu

Engineering aspects of many projects within the lab, focusing on the HeartPulse and Smart Diaphragm

Rabbani

Naveed Rabbani, BS
Research and Development Engineer
naveed.rabbani@ucsf.edu

Assists in the building and testing of analog and digital circuits; developing wireless mobile applications for clinical use

Wright

Nathan Wright, MS
Research and Development Engineer
nathan.wright@ucsf.edu

Development of advanced therapy systems and devices to improve outcomes and quality of life for ESRD patients; projects: The Kidney Project

Former lab members

Photo

Who

Now at

Elizabeth Leefland, MD

Elisabeth Leeflang, MD

University of Utah

Image credit for Shuvo Roy: © majedphoto.com