Research laboratory of Shuvo Roy, PhD
Biodesign Laboratory

People

Jump below to:

Principal investigator

Photo

Who

Research interests

Roy

Shuvo Roy, PhD
Professor and Principal Investigator
shuvo.roy@ucsf.edu

Development of MEMS (microelectromechanical systems) technology for biomedical applications with an emphasis on implantable devices

Administration

Photo

Who

What I do

Gordon

Illya Gordon
Research Associate
Cleanroom Coordinator and Lab Manager
illya.gordon@ucsf.edu

Management of Biodesign Lab and Biomedical Micro & Nanotechnology Core (BMNC), focusing on facilitating and assisting in device fabrication and development for application in urgent biomedical challenges such as drug delivery, stem cell differentiation, and point-of-care diagnostics

Susan Kram
Project Manager, The Kidney Project
Susan.Kram@ucsf.edu

Manages development timelines, deliverables, and communications as it pertains to The Kidney Project.

 

   
Haikal

Kamran Haikal
Project Coordinator, Smart Diaphragm
Kamran.Haikal@ucsf.edu

Coordinates and oversees operational logistics of the Smart Diaphragm Project and provides communications and administrative support to the engineering and clinical teams, ensuring milestones are met.

Postdoctoral scholars

Photo

Who

Research interests

Feinberg

Benjamin Feinberg, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
benjamin.feinberg@ucsf.edu

Development and validation of mechanistic transport models for silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs).

Buddhadev Paul Chaudhuri, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
Buddhadev.PaulChaudhuri@ucsf.edu

Design, microfabrication, testing of silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs), and MEMS process development, optimization and integration thereof.

Jarrett Moyer, MD
Surgery Resident
jarrett.moyer@ucsf.edu

Evaluates surgical considerations necessary for implantation of the kidney device as well as collaborating on the ECMO and bioartificial pancreas projects in similar capacities.

Jimmy Ly, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
jimmy.ly@ucsf.edu 

Design and fabrication of robust silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs) and housing for blood filtration and cell immunoisolation. 

Song

Shang Song, PhD
Postdoctoral Scholar
shang.song@ucsf.edu

Development of a bioartificial pancreas for the treatment of Type 1 diabetes using silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs)

Graduate students

Photo

Who

Research interests

Emily Abada
PhD Student, UCSF/UCB Joint Graduate Program in Bioengineering
emily.abada@ucsf.edu

Development of an extracorporeal membrane oxygenator (ECMO) using silicon membrane technology.

Bancroft Brown

Jeremy Bancroft Brown

Medical Scientist Training Program (MD/PhD)

jeremy.bancroftbrown@ucsf.edu

Development of miniaturized sensors and electronics for point-of-care diagnostics and MRI biomarker discovery as part of collaboration between the Roy and Kurhanewicz labs

Iqbal

Zohora Iqbal
PhD student, UCSF/UCB Joint Graduate Program in Bioengineering
zohora.iqbal@ucsf.edu

Improving the biocompatibility of silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs) by surface chemistry alteration with polymer coatings

Jayagopal

Aishwarya Jayagopal
PhD student, Pharmaceutical Sciences and Pharmacogenomics (PSPG)
aishwarya.jayagopal@ucsf.edu

Designing scaled in vitro model of the implantable bioartificial kidney for use in drug clearance and toxicity testing

 

 

 

Laboratory staff

Photo

Who

Research interests

Blaha

Charles Blaha, MS
Research Associate
charles.blaha@ucsf.edu

Construction of the housing for the implantable bioartificial kidney and testing of silicon membrane technology for various biomedical applications; assists the Principal Investigator with reports, manuscripts, and proposals

Eun Jung Kim

Eun Jung Kim, PhD
Associate Specialist
eunjung.kim@ucsf.edu

Surface modification techniques and hemocompatibility testing for silicon nanopore membranes (SNMs); characterization of cellular responses of bone marrow stem cells, connective tissue progenitor cells, derived mammalian cells on microtextured surfaces in order to understand cell-surface interactions for tissue engineering applications

Wright

Nathan Wright, MS
Research and Development Engineer
nathan.wright@ucsf.edu

Development of advanced therapy systems and devices to improve outcomes and quality of life for end stage renal disease (ESRD) patients

Sukhveer Sandhu, MS
Medical Device Engineer
sukhveer.sandhu@ucsf.edu

Medical Device Engineer for UCSF's Surgical Innovations Program

Former lab members

Photo

Who

Now at

Ajay Dharia, MD  
Stephanie Brummett
Stephanie Brummett
Coordinator
stephanie.brummett@ucsf.edu

Thru-hiking the Appalachian Trial,

fundraiser dedicated to The Kidney Project:

https://crowdfund.ucsf.edu/project/5914

Yeager
Torin Yeager, PhD Avantex Vascular Corporation
Moses

Willieford Moses, MD, PhD

UCSF Department of Surgery

Park

Jae Hyun Park, PhD

Applied Materials

Chung

Philip Chung, MS

UCSF Medical School

Heller

Alex Heller, MS

Northwestern University

Etemadi

Mozziyar Etemadi, MD, PhD

Northwestern University

Steven Kim

Steven Kim, MD

Kaiser Permanente

Rabbani

Naveed Rabbani, BS

Harvard Medical School

Soler

Peter Soler, PhD candidate

Bristol-Meyers Squibb

Image credit for Shuvo Roy: © majedphoto.com

Susan Kram
Project Manager, The Kidney Project
Susan.Kram@ucsf.edu

  1. Avantec Vascular Corporation