UCSF

2016-2017 Academic Calendar

Academic calendar

This calendar applies to 1st-, 2nd-, 3rd-, and 4th-year PharmD didactic courses. When a discrepancy exists with the Registrar’s calendar, our academic calendar takes precedence over theirs. This academic year has 146 days of instruction.

Fall 2016

This quarter has 49 days of instruction.

Required reorientation for P2 & P3

Sep 21, Wed

Instruction begins

Sep 22, Thu

Instruction begins for HSPR P4

Sep 27, Tue

Last day to file or change your study list online

See Deadlines.

Last day to change grading option or drop a course by petition with fee

See Deadlines.

Veteran's holiday

Nov 11, Fri

Thanksgiving holiday

Nov 24–25, Thu–Fri

Instruction ends (see Reading Day below)

Dec 2, Fri

Final exams

Dec 5–9, Mon–Fri

Winter break

Dec 10–Jan 8, Sat–Sun

Winter holiday

Dec 23 & 26, Fri & Mon

New Year's holiday

Dec 30 & Jan 2, Fri & Mon

Winter 2017

This quarter has 48 days of instruction.

Instruction begins

Jan 9, Mon

Last day to file or change your study list online

See Deadlines.

MLK Jr. holiday

Jan 16, Mon

Last day to change grading option or drop a course by petition with fee

See Deadlines.

Presidents holiday

Feb 20, Mon

Instruction ends (see Reading Day below)

Mar 17, Fri

Final exams

Mar 20–24, Mon–Fri

Spring break

Mar 25–Apr 2, Sat–Sun

Cesar Chavez holiday

Mar 31, Fri

Spring 2017

This quarter has 49 days of instruction.

Instruction begins

Apr 3, Mon

Last day to file or change your study list online

See Deadlines.

Last day to change grading option or drop a course by petition with fee

See Deadlines.

Commencement

May 19, Fri

Memorial holiday

May 29, Mon

Instruction ends (see Reading Day below)

Jun 9, Fri

Final exams

Jun 12–16, Mon–Fri

Notes

  • Reading Day: The last day of instruction is designated as a Reading Day. Classes normally offered on this day are rescheduled.
  • Holiday = Classes are not in session, administrative offices are closed.
  • Break = Classes are not in session, administrative offices are open.

Block calendar

This calendar applies to all site locations in 3rd- and 4th-year Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences.

Medical facilities, clinics and APPE sites may or may not observe UCSF holidays given patient care needs. Check with your preceptor if you have a question about the schedule that will apply during your rotations.

 

Summer 2016

Block 1

Jun 27–Aug 5, Mon–Fri

Break

Aug 6–14, Sat–Sun

Block 2

Aug 15–Sep 23, Mon–Fri

 

Fall 2016

Block 1

Sep 26–Nov 4, Mon–Fri

Block 2

Nov 7–Dec 16, Mon–Fri

Break

Dec 17–Jan 1, Sat–Sun

 

Winter 2017

Block 1

Jan 2–Feb 10, Mon–Fri

Block 2

Feb 13–Mar 24, Mon–Fri

 

Spring 2017

Block 1

Mar 27–May 5, Mon–Fri

Break

May 6–14, Sat–Sun

Block 2

May 15–Jun 23, Mon–Fri

 

Summer 2017

Block 1

Jun 26–Aug 4, Mon–Fri

Break

Aug 5–13, Sat–Sun

Block 2

Aug 14–Sep 22, Mon–Fri

Related site: Registration for study list filing, change grade option, and drop a course deadlines